Uncategorized

Fall Movie Bucket List

As the weather gets cooler, and the days get shorter, we often find ourselves spending more time inside. As a mother, there is always something ‘To Do’, so I value the time I can just shut off and relax. One of my favorite things to do on a fall evening at home is to cuddle up on the coach with a cozy blanket and snack and watch a movie!

I personally love watching Halloween movies or movies set in the fall. Living in Florida, we don’t really have ‘fall’, so I have to live vicariously through movies. Below I have listed some of my very favorite Fall movies; some are Halloween themed, some are just set in the fall, so the scenery helped drag me in. This is not an all inclusive list, just my favorites!

Hocus Pocus is my absolute FAVORITE Halloween movie. When I was younger, I always wished I could go trick or treating in Salem, they definitely know how to do Halloween right! I have not yet seen Hocus Pocus 2 (I know, I’m slacking!). We’ve just been very busy and I want to make sure I can watch the whole movie without being disrupted or falling asleep, because I’m a mom and I do that!

Beetlejuice actually reminds me of my step-mother; I don’t know if I watched it with her the first time OR just that she really liked it. It’s a fun movie, definitely not for younger kids as there are some parts that can be a little scary.

The Addams Family is just a great classic movie. You can’t have Halloween without the Addams’! The second movie in the series from the 90’s, Addams Family Values is pretty good too, but not as good as the first one. I have not seen the Addams Family Reunion. Normally by the third movie in a series, I’ve lost interest. However, I took my son to see the animated Addams Family on Halloween, as he is not a big fan of trick or treating. It was cute, but we haven’t watched it again.

It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown is an absolute classic and everyone must watch it every year. That’s not an opinion, but a fact! I bought the DVD when my son was little, I actually bought all the Charlie Brown movies, and I’m glad I did. It seems like every few years there is some sort of licensing issue and the movies are not shown on broadcast TV channels.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show is just one of those movies that screams the 70’s! It’s definitely not for everyone, and that’s okay. But it’s fun and you can’t say enough about Tim Curry!

The Nightmare Before Christmas, is it a Halloween or Christmas movie??? The debate rages on!

The Craft brings me back to my middle school days! The fashion, Skeet Ulrich…

Dead Poets Society, Good Will Hunting, and Stepmom are just great movies for that Autumn Aesthetic. I actually had not watched either Dead Poets Society or Good Will Hunting until about 15 years after they came out. I guess it took that long for me to appreciate the stories.

Sleepy Hollow is a classic! I am an avid reader of classic books, which includes Washing Irving & I enjoyed many animated films about the ‘Headless Horseman’ as a child. So when Sleepy Hollow came out in 1999, I made sure I saw it in theaters. It is always on my list to watch every October and I will often re-read the novel as well!

Ghostbusters is one of the best 80’s movies that you can watch all year long!

E.T. The Extra Terrestrial is such a cute movie. I remember watching it when I was younger and wanting my own E.T. I do not thing my parents were on board with that!

Obviously, there are so many more movies that are out there to give you the Halloween and Fall vibes! These are just a few of my favorites and the ones I like to make a point to watch each year! If you have not seen some of these, I highly recommend checking them out. None of them are too scary and Rocky Horror Picture Show is the only one I would probably not watch with my 12 year old son. Not that he would want to watch Dead Poets Society or Stepmom!

What are some of your favorite movies to cuddle up on the couch with warm cider or tea and watch?

Leave a comment